The Regional Airfare Zone Cap scheme is a joint initiative between the State Government and five airlines: Airnorth, Qantas, Regional Express (Rex), Skippers Aviation and Virgin.

The scheme builds on each of the airlines’ resident fare programs by reducing their maximum resident fare prices to the Zone Cap fare of $199 or $299.